Maintaining A Strong Imaan (Faith)

Bismillah hir rahman nir raheem – In the name of Allah, the most gracious, the most merciful.

I write this blog post whilst dwelling on my strength as a person, my dedication and commitment to the religion of Islam. I do not question my beliefs but more so whether I do enough to practice my religion.

What led me to ponder this was my bus journey to school, see at the moment i am working through listening to an audio translation of the Quran (The holy book of Islam for those who do not know). Only in the 2nd chapter named Al-Baqarah i found a verse that inspired me to want to better myself.

Enjoin you Al-Birr (piety and righteousness and each and every act of obedience to Allah) on the people and you forget (to practice it) yourselves, while you recite the Scripture [the Taurat (Torah)]! Have you then no sense?”

(The Quran: Al-Baqarah 2:44)

No matter how much we try we cannot be perfect, there will always be more that we can do and Allah (SWT) in his infinite wisdom knows and understands this, for example lowering the times we are required to pray from 50 times, to 5 times a day yet still being able to reap the rewards of the full 50 prayers! Subhanallah (Glory to God).

Yet we still seek more. May Allah forgive us!

I, myself do not pray 5 times a day and Allah knows the guilt i feel afterwards! I often question whether i am worthy to call myself a Muslim if i cannot even perform the bare minimum myself! This is what struck me in the verse, the fact i openly discuss Islam with non-muslims yet do not fulfill the basic requirements.

Some may argue that it is hypocritical of me to post about making change if i am a certain way myself, however this is mainly to shed light on a situation many perhaps do not talk about.

Inshallah things will change…

The message here is to practice what you preach!

For now i wish my readers the best in whatever it is they do and non-muslim or Muslim wish them peace and clarity in their lives.

assalamualaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuh

 

 

Leave a comment